Press Review

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : A cooler aroma, slight lemon; fresh and juicy and more savoury mineral. On the palate some tension. It is zesty and fruity, but savoury and stoney too. And it has a breadth as well...this is a wine for a meal. “Yes,” says Michel “it’s very good with snails.”

 

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 (tasted in 2016) : Light yellow. Refined, expressive floral and fruity nose with faint toast and a mineral sensation. Lovely fat, silky texture, freshness and savoury mineral and oak persistence on the palate. An ultra premium generic Burgundy. Note : 89/100. Gold medal

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A plump, juicy white, this has substance, displaying a core of peach and apple notes wrapped in baking spice flavors. There is a hint of tannins on the finish. Drink now through 2020. 89 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Very nice juicy fruit; quite sprightly. The fruit is red and zesty..it is lively on the finish. Light and crunchy tannins. Appetising.

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Fresh and red and a touch of black fruit. High toned. Soft and fruity; plenty of red fruits, juicy and supple and energetic. Very nice forward fruity wine with sappy acidity at the end.

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A supple, juicy style, boasting cherry, currant, spice and licorice flavors. Intense and engaging, with a firm, mouthwatering finish. Drink now through 2022. 88 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : The aroma is deeper and denser. This is much stricter. Pure tense and straight. Clipped at the edges, much more mineral and vibrant...but also more channelled and tense...More potential, less easy going. I like the tight finish.

 

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 : Attractive red hue with ruby highlights. Expressive nose with precise fruit and fine oak. Fleshy, delicious, red fruit-forward attack flowing into a beautiful full palate and sensation of freshness. An Hautes Côtes at the top end of the spectrum. Note : 90/100. Gold medal 90+

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : This is tight, fresh and long, with a silky texture and firm tannins coating the violet, berry and underbrush flavors. Best from 2018 through 2023. 90 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 :  The top soil is 1m deep - argile and the flint stones. This is deeper and richer and ‘stronger’ than the Vosne side NSG. It is quite compact and has a smoky dark note... colder in feel and a savoury cool sappiness on the finish. somewhat austere and certainly straight. “This cuvee ages very well” It is edgy. Score 16.25

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : Heavily toasted oak frames cherry, raspberry and spice flavors in this taut, linear red. Shows intensity, and the finish lingers with fruit, spice and graphite notes. Best from 2019 through 2033. 91 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : It is supple and smooth. A very Vosne style NSG. Soft and juicy dark fruit. Splashing and easy, but also very fresh. It is appetising and bright. A little rounded in the mid palate. The tannins are present and correct, supportive and twangy and fresh. Score 16

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Gold Medal.  Seductive black cherry on the nose, a broad palate of dense fruit with firm tannins with a fresh finish

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A powerful yet smooth red boasting black cherry, black currant, violet and mineral flavors, this is vibrant and focused, with a long aftertaste of stone and spice. Best from 2020 through 2032. 93 points

 

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 (tasted in 2016) : Deep ruby with garnet shades. Nicely open nose showing a harmonious mix of red fruits and lightly spiced oak. Ample, full-bodied, generous and mellow palate. A mouth-filling Nuits, still under oak influence. Would benefit from a little more bottle time.  Note : 89/100. Gold medal

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : This has some seductive aromatics. Quite scented. plumptous and juicy. Elegant and appealing. It has a succulence and juiciness. Soft tannins, smooth texture. Summer fruits on the finish..which is fresh and just nicely long enough. “This is always a more approachable cuvee than the MSD”. Score 16.15

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A mix of floral, cherry, strawberry and spice flavors highlights this elegant, firmly structured red. Balanced and bright, with elements of fruit and spice echoing on the long finish. Best from 2018 through 2028. 90 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : This is somewhat sumptuous on the attack. Very juicy and aromatic at first and then it tightens and the core is racy...tight and zesty and mineral and the tannins show a little more... there is a finesse and energy at the end. (this has just finished the MLF). Score 16.25

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Fragrant elegant nose with ripe bramble smoky oak. A huge concentration of ripe dark fruit, with elegant integration and a delicious long finish.

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A tight, crisp red, displaying ample generosity as it opens up. Offers ripe cherry, eucalyptus, vegetal and spice flavors. Smoky finish. Best from 2020 through 2033. 89 points

 

Bourgogne Aujourd’hui N°140, Avril 2018 : 14,5 / 20

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : A lifted pure aroma. Pure and rippling, silky and elegant...fine minerality and tension. It hits that treble note...pure and singing....salty finish. Love it. Score 16.5

 

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : This is elegant and lacy, with core cherry flavors accented by loads of spice notes, a mix of oak and whole cluster that lends sandalwood along with vanilla and toast tones. Lingering spicy aftertaste. Best from 2020 through 2032.90 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : The aroma is pure and straight. Silky texture and so refined. It is sensual and yet reserved...it is elegant and finely wrought. It has just a lovely balance and harmony...a long and fluid and fresh finish. It has its own personality which is apart. Balance and texture. Score 18.65

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 89-92 - Drink : 2022+

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Gold Medal and Vosne Romanée Trophy. Deep red fruit- cranberry and raspberry with savoury intensity. Strawberry, cherry and rose notes, with crystalline quality and sensitively handled oak. This needs another 5 years and will give a delicious Vosne- Romanee 1er Cru with the extra age in the

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : Black cherry, spice and earth flavors are matched to a dense structure here, with concentration and subtle power building up to the finish. Drink now through 2024.

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 (tasted in 2016) : Beautiful deep red. Racy nose displaying a delicate fusion of red berry fruits and fine oak. Very alluring presence on the palate combining fullness, finesse and ethereal character. A superb, harmonious and elegant wine, already very seductive. Gold standard. Note : 97/100. Gold medal 90+

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Seductive for about 2 seconds and then it tightens in. Straight, clipped and much more austere. You sense the ripeness, there is density and my goodness it is compact and contained. The ‘richness’ is cold and channelled and the finish is long and more savoury. A more difficult wine right now, but with potential. Score 18.5. (Finished MLF 1 month ago)

Gérard Basset et Stephen Brook, Février 2016, Decanter : 95 points. Lovely sweet blackberry fruit, cured meat notes, a velvety texture and savoury finish. A wine of great charm that illustrates well how this estate punches above its weight. Drink 2018-2028

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 90-92 - Drink : 2024+

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Gold Medal. Intense perfume and dark berry cedery aromas. Beautiful dark fruit integration fine silky tannic concentration on palate. Complex with a great length on the finish

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A fluid, succulent red, featuring black cherry, black currant, licorice and spice flavors. Sophisticated and silky, with fine harmony and a lingering aftertaste of dark fruit and oak spice. Best from 2020 through 2033. 93 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Dark fruits, brambles; succulent and juicy on the attack. A quite fleshy wine. Plenty of soft tannins. Ample middle. But darker and straighter on the finish. Touch of liquorice. Bit of a bite to the tannins, but an appetising, fresh bite after the lush fruit. it freshens at the end. Score 18

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : Floral, cherry, raspberry, spice and earth aromas and flavors are the hallmarks of this well-defined, succulent red. A solid structure lends support and extends the lingering finish. Should come together nicely in a few years. Best from 2019 through 2035. 94 points

Sarah Marsh, Winter 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : An elegant expression of this terroir, supple, smooth and somewhat exuberant...very fruity. The juicy fruit covers the frame, but it is there behind...more muscle...it builds on the palate...it becomes larger in the mouth. But at the end fruity still. A more accessible Clos de Vougeot and I like it for being less burly and more elegant. Score 19

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 91-93 - Drink : 2026+

Wine Spectator, June 2017 : A broad, powerful version, whose cherry, currant, smoke, spice and earth aromas and flavors are supported by gripping tannins. Tightens up on the finish, where oak spice and green olive accents reign. Best from 2020 through 2033. 93 points

DOMAINE MICHEL GROS SARL -

7 RUE DES COMMUNES -

21700 VOSNE ROMANEE - FRANCE

TEL  +33 3 80 61 04 69 -

FAX  +33 3 80 61 22 29 -

contact @ domaine-michel-gros.com

1366

900

640

480

420

Notes et Distinctions

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Un arôme frais, légèrement citronné; note minérale fraîche, juteuse et savoureuse. En bouche, une certaine tension. Il est vif et fruité, mais savoureux et minéral. Il a de l’ampleur ainsi ...... c’est un vin pour un repas.

 

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 : Robe jaune clair. Nez fin et expressif, floral, fruité, légèrement grillé, sensation minérale. En bouche on apprécie son gras, sa texture soyeuse, sa fraîcheur et son agréable persistance minérale et boisée. Un bourgogne générique très haut de gamme.  89/100 (dégusté en 2016)

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Un blanc charnu et juteux, doté d'une substance qui présente un cœur de notes de pêche et de pomme enveloppées dans des arômes de cuisson. Il y a une pointe de tanins en finale. À boire dès maintenant et jusqu'en 2020. 89 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Fruit juteux très agréable; très vif. Le fruit est rouge et acidulé. Il est vigoureux en finale. Tanins légers et croustillants. Appétissant.

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Frais, fruits rouges et une touche de fruits noirs. Très tonique. Doux et fruité; beaucoup de fruits rouges juteux et souples, énergiques. Très beau premier vin avec une acidité séveuse en finale.

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Un style souple et juteux aux saveurs de cerise, de cassis, d'épices et de réglisse. Intense et engageant, avec une finale ferme et alléchante. À boire dès maintenant et d'ici 2022. 88 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : L'arôme est plus profond et plus dense. Il est beaucoup plus strict. Pur, tendu et droit. Arrondi sur les bords, beaucoup plus minéral et dynamique ... mais aussi plus canalisé et tendu ... Plus de potentiel, moins facile ... J’aime la finale serrée.

Gilbert & Gaillard, Guide 2018 : Jolie robe rouge, reflets rubis. nez expressif au fruité précis et au boisé fin. Attaque charnue, gourmande sur le fruit rouge, prolongée par une belle plénitude et une sensation de fraîcheur. Un hautes côtes très haut de gamme. Note : 90/10 (dégusté en 2016) - Médaille d'or 90+

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Il est tendu, frais et long, avec une texture soyeuse et des tanins fermes recouvrant des arômes de violette, de baies et de sous-bois. A boire entre 2018 et 2023. 90 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 :  Le sol a une profondeur d’1 m - argile et silex. Il est plus profond et plus riche et «puissant» que le côté Vosne de NSG. Il est assez compact et a une note sombre fumée ... plus froid dans la sensation en bouche, et plein de sève fraîche savoureuse sur la finale. Un peu austère et certainement droit. "Cette cuvée vieillit très bien". Il est nerveux. Note 16,25

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Le chêne fortement grillé encadre les saveurs de cerise, de framboise et d'épices dans ce vin rouge tendu et linéaire. Il montre de l'intensité et la finale se prolonge par des notes de fruits, d'épices et de graphite. A boire entre 2019 et 2033. 91 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Il est souple et lisse. Un style très Vosne. Fruits noirs doux et juteux. Éclatant et facile, mais aussi très frais. Il est appétissant et lumineux. Un peu arrondi en milieu de bouche. Les tanins sont présents et soutiennent correctement le nez frais frais. Note 16

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Médaille d'or. Nez séduisant de cerise noire, une bouche ample, densité de fruits, des tanins fermes sur une finale fraîche.

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Un vin rouge puissant et doux aux saveurs de cerise noire, de cassis, de violette et de minéral. Il est vif et concentré, avec une longue finale de pierre et d'épices. A boire entre 2020 et 2032. 93 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Il a des notes aromatiques séduisantes. Très parfumé. Dodu et juteux. Élégant et attrayant. Il a une succulence et une « jutosité ». Tanins souples, une texture lisse. Fruits d'été en finale, qui est fraîche et parfaitement suffisamment longue. "Cette cuvée est toujours plus accessible que le Morey Saint Denis En la Rue de Vergy". Note : 16,15

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Un mélange de saveurs florales, de cerise, de fraise et d'épices souligne ce vin rouge élégant et structuré. Équilibré et lumineux, avec des notes de fruits et d'épices se répercutant sur la longue finale. A boire entre  2018 et 2028. 90 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Attaque très somptueuse. Très juteux et aromatique en attaque, puis il se resserre et le cœur est racé ... serré et épicé, minéral, les tanins se montrent un peu plus... il allie finesse et énergie en finale. (MLF tout juste finie). Note : 16,25

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 :  Nez parfumé et raffiné avec une note de chêne fumé. Une énorme concentration de fruits noirs mûrs, avec une intégration élégante et une délicieuse finale longue. Médaille d'argent

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Serré et croquant, affichant une ample générosité au fur et à mesure de son ouverture. Il offre des saveurs de cerise mûre, d’eucalyptus, d’épices. Note finale fumée. A boire entre 2020 et 2033. 89 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Un arôme d’une pureté élevée. Pur et ondulant, soyeux et élégant ... une belle minéralité et tension. Il frappe une note aiguë ... pure et chante .... finale salée. J’aime. Note : 16,5

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Il est élégant et racé, avec des saveurs de base de cerise, accentuées par de nombreuses notes d’épices, mélangé au chêne, qui rappelle le bois de santal, une touche de vanille et de pain grillé. Longue finale épicée. A boire entre 2020 et 2032. 90 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : L'arôme est pur et droit. Texture soyeuse et si raffinée. Il est sensuel et encore réservé ... élégant et finement forgé. Il a simplement un bel équilibre et une harmonie ... une finale longue, fluide et fraîche. Il a sa propre personnalité qui est à part. Equilibre et texture. Note : 18,65

 

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 89-92 - Drink : 2022+

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Médaille d'or et Vosne Romanée Trophy. Fruits rouges profonds - canneberge et framboise avec une intensité savoureuse. Notes de fraise, de cerise et de rose, une qualité cristalline et le fût de chêne utilisé avec sensibilité. Il nécessite encore 5 ans de garde.

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Les saveurs de cerise noire, d'épices et de terre sont associées à une structure dense, avec une concentration et une puissance subtiles se développant jusqu'à la fin. À boire dès maintenant et d'ici 2024.

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Séduisant pendant environ 2 secondes, puis il se resserre. Droit, et beaucoup plus austère. Vous sentez la maturité, il a de la densité et mon Dieu, il est compact et contenu. La «richesse» est froide et canalisée et la finale est longue et plus savoureuse. Un vin plus difficile en ce moment, mais avec du potentiel. Note : 18,5. (MLF finie il y a 1 mois).

 

Gérard Basset et Stephen Brook, Février 2016, Decanter : 95 points. Beau fruit de mûre sucrée, des notes de charcuterie, une texture veloutée et une finale savoureuse. Un vin de grand charme qui illustre bien comment ce domaine se situe au-dessus de sa renommée. A boire entre 2018 et 2028

 

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 90-92 - Drink : 2024+

 

International Wine Challenge 2016 : Médaille d'or. Parfum intense et arômes de cèdre foncé. Belle intégration des fruits noirs, concentration tannique  fine soyeuse  sur le palais. Complexe avec une grande longueur en finale.

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Un vin rouge succulent et fluide aux saveurs de cerise noire, de cassis, de réglisse et d'épices. Sophistiqué et soyeux, avec une belle harmonie et un arrière-goût persistant de fruits noirs et d'épices de chêne. A boire entre 2020 et 2033. 93 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Fruits noirs, de ronces; succulent et juteux à l'attaque. Un vin bien charnu. Beaucoup de tanins souples. Ample en milieu de bouche. Mais plus sombre et plus droit sur la finale. Touche de réglisse. Tanins légèrement mordants, mais, une note fraîche appétissante apparaît après le fruit luxuriant, en finale. Note : 18.

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Les arômes et les saveurs floraux, de cerise, de framboise, d'épice et de terre caractérisent ce vin rouge succulent bien défini. Une structure solide soutient et prolonge la finale persistante. Devrait bien se marier dans quelques années. A boire entre 2019 et 2035. 94 points

Sarah Marsh, Hiver 2015, The Burgundy Briefing N° 17 : Une expression élégante de ce terroir, souple, lisse et un peu exubérante ... très fruité Le fruit juteux couvre la structure, mais elle est là derrière ... plus musclée ... Elle se construit en bouche ... s’agrandit. Mais la finale est fruitée encore. Un Clos de Vougeot plus accessible, et je l'aime pour être moins robuste et plus élégant. Note : 19

 

Allen Meadows, 15 Janvier 2016, N°61 : Score : 91-93 - Drink : 2026+

 

Wine Spectator, juin 2017 : Une version large et puissante, dont les arômes et les saveurs de cerise, de cassis, de fumée, d'épices et de terre sont soutenus par des tanins saisissants. Resserré sur la finale, où règnent les accents de chêne épicé et d'olive verte. A boire entre 2020 et 2033. 93 points

DOMAINE MICHEL GROS SARL -

7 RUE DES COMMUNES -

21700 VOSNE ROMANEE - FRANCE

TEL  +33 3 80 61 04 69 -

FAX  +33 3 80 61 22 29 -

contact @ domaine-michel-gros.com

1366

900

640

480

420